The Netbook vs Smartphone Conundrum

May 14, 2009 at 11:40 am 6 comments

Our family Verizon contract has been eligible for renewal since November 2009, and I’m caught in analysis paralysis. Do I replace my trusty but clunky Palm Treo 700 with a shiny new Blackberry or a new HP Netbook? It’s a conundrum.

Daughter Johna and husband Robert jumped right in and grabbed up shiny new LG enV handsets. Johna, who is 22, is the self-appointed queen of texting. Forget about minutes, rollover or otherwise; we never come near to the allotted family total. But I finally had to give in to the inevitability of the unlimited texting plan when Johna exceeded her monthly 500 text message allowance to the tune of $69 in overage charges – at 10 cents per message, you do the math! For her and her dad, the enV is just right, with it’s ready phone and pop-open keyboard for the multi-person chat fests Johna regularly engages in.

I’m actually envious of the enV – but it won’t do it for me,  the business user and email/web junkie. The Treo email interface is workable, although my calendar no longer synchs since I’ve upgraded my laptop, and the web surfing or newsgroup experiences leave much to be desired. The battery life and response time is far superior to my prior Motorola Q, and I’ve become addicted to the touchscreen convenience of the Treo interface. But typing a long text or email on the Treo’s Blackberry-esque keypad is a painful process. I’ve long pined for a more robust portable keyboard.

Then there’s traveling with a laptop. While doing the requisite striptease gymnastics in the security line, I’ve often wondered how many times laptops have been dropped and damaged by weary travellers in the process of transferring them from their padded cocoons into the naked plastic bins for scanning. Having endured three week-long conferences in the past three months, I can tell you that juggling a laptop case and carry-on along with even a small roller-bag is cumbersome – especially when you have to navigate city streets and public transit.

Which brings me to the personal allure of the new HP Netbook that Verizon has just announced. As HP is one of our longest running and largest customers, I would have a hard time carrying one of those otherbrands, but I could glom onto an HP Netbook rather quickly. The keyboard and screen would seem downright enormous – even GI-nourmous! – in comparison to the couple inches square on the Treo, and the touch pad would help compensate for the lack of touch screen.

The netbook option would be adequate for running a PowerPoint or reviewing a proposal in Word – or creating a blog post – but would fall short of being able to fully handle my more demanding work and personal tasks, such as creating said presentation with robust graphics or editing in PhotoShop. The lack of screen real estate would make writing a proposal a challenge. Given all that, I can’t entertain the idea of actually replacing my trusty power notebook for a wimpy netbook for work. But it holds a strong pull as a potential road companion, offering much greater functionality than a smartphone without the hassle of carrying a full laptop.  

But then … do I really want to carry a separate phone? Would I miss having access – albeit limited and less than ideal – to email and newsgroups in a handheld device?

Like I said … I’m in analysis paralysis. It’s a conundrum! I welcome your thoughts and observations.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Happy Birthday Samuel Morse! Kanzius Cancer Treatment Work Continues

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeff  |  May 25, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    I stumbled across this blog posting when looking for posts about replacing a blackberry with the new Verizon HP netbook. I am quite literally in the same boat as you.

    I have been a blackberry junkie for a few years now and have gotten used to the instant access of having everything in my pocket. However, with the the netbook, I am thinking of replacing it.

    I know they are two different animals, and I am not sure I would carry around the netbook like the blackberry.

    I am interested to know what your thoughts are on this. Thanks!

  • 2. Chris Willis  |  May 25, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    Thanks, Jeff, for leaving a comment.

    I actually visited the Verizon store this weekend to try out the new HP Netbook. It’a sharp looking device about 1/3 the size of my standard laptop. I found the keyboard easy to use and the screen clear. I can imagine myself sitting at an airport terminal or riding as a passenger in car actually enjoying answering email with ease on the device. And the fact that it runs a lite version of Windows means that it should sync flawlessly with my desktop, and I could conceivably leave the big laptop at home when traveling. Still appealing.

    But although it is a COMPACT laptop, it is a laptop nonetheless. That is, it’s not a phone. It’s not a PDA. It’s a mini laptop. All of which means that it’s not going to fit on a waist holster like your Blackberry, nor will it hold a charge through a full day’s usage the way your Blackberry will. It has its own phone number for connectivity, and you will have to carry a separate phone with your current cell number for voice calls and texting.

    I currently pay about $45/mo for the data plan on my Treo. If I were to move to the netbook + phone I would have to add an additional $15/mo.

    While at Verizon, I also played with the Blackberry Storm. A colleague is currently using one right now, and he believes I’d be frustrated with the touch keypad. After playing with it a bit, I tend to think he’s correct, although the large, clear screen is appealing. I also compared my Treo to one of the newer Blackberries. The sleek little devices would be much easier to carry than my clunky Treo, and the keypad keys are a bit larger (they have less space between the keys), but the screen is quite a bit smaller. NOT a good option when I’m looking to make email easier! Then there’s the issue of syncing mail and calendar with Windows …

    So, I’m afraid I walked out of the store without doing anything, yet. Still afraid to commit. Maybe what I really want is a Storm with an extension keyboard that I could plug in when conditions allow? I could even carry a little clipboard to use as a lap desk when sitting. Doesn’t solve the sync issue, but it would get me a better portable email device.

    Let me know what you decide to do!

    ~cfw

  • 3. CJ  |  August 11, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    HI Chris,

    Just curious to know if you make any decisions? I am also at an impasse regarding my current technological needs! My contract with Verizon is up. I currently do not have a smartphone. My company does not pay for such devices, or cellphones for that matter. I have considered a smartphone, a netbook, a pocket pc (from HP), or just a simple PDA. Wifi is important, but I am not quite sure that a full fledged data plan is. The new Blackberry Tour looks nice, as does some of the Window Mobile phones (HTC ozone).

    Let me know if you make any decisions.

    CJ

  • 4. Chris Willis  |  August 14, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Greetings, CJ!

    Since posting this, I have struggled through a number of decision points, but today Verizon pushed me over the edge with an incredible buy one/get one promo. I just purchased a Blackberry Tour for $99 and got a free HP Netbook along with the deal. I would never have settled for the Tour alone with its small (although incredibly clear) screen, but I’ll have the netbook for heavy web usage so screen size on the phone is now pretty much a non-issue.

    The netbook will cost an addition $39/mo for service, but considering that a separate netbook purchase would set me back $400, I decided that was a fair – and useful – tradeoff.

    Believe it or not, I was going to hold out for the new HTC Touch Pro 2, which is only rumored to hit Verizon next January … but my Treo is getting a bit long in the tooth, and I’m now very excited to get my new toys.

    Good luck in your continued search!

    ~cfw

  • 5. Tony  |  September 8, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    I found your site trying to answer the same question–that is, finding the best in the trade-off for a device for travelling. For business I lug around a relatively powerful notebook, as powerful as you can get in a 13″ wide unit. The laptop weighs 6 lbs but when I add the carry case, charger and all the cables, adapters, papers, pens, laser pointer, USB keys, etc, the case weighs 16 lbs.

    For pleasure trips, I take my HTC Touch Diamond cell phone along with a full sized folding Bluetooth external keyboard. The smart phone runs Windows Mobile 6.1 and I have email, web browsing, Documents to Go with ability to edit Word, Excel, and PowerPoint. I also have applications on the phone for a VOIP/SIP phone, wifi finder, various GPS utilities including one to find where I parked the rental car. Accessories include an AC charger, a car charger, and a small Bluetooth speaker phone. My wife has her iPod for her email, Documents to Go, and her apps.

    But the trade-off with the phone is the small screen. So we’re looking at a netbook. A colleague just bought one and he’s found the netbook suitable mainly for email and web browsing. Otherwise the lag time for more intensive applications drives him to use a notebook or desktop.

    So, that’ the trade-off. A larger screen with a netbook or ultra-portability with the cellphone. At this point I’m leaning towards the cell phone as we tend to travel light on pleasure trips, with just one carry-on bag each and no checked luggage.

  • 6. Mama J  |  March 3, 2010 at 7:23 am

    I just gave into the lure myself and purchased a netbook. At the same time, I switched back to a text-friendly, but non-smartphone–an LG phone nonetheless (from a Palm Treo). So far, I’m very happy with my decision. Although, I admit, I’m a little more leary of doing the airport juggle with a netbook vs. my home laptop, a PowerBook G4.

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get Practical Creativity via email!

May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives